MLK Peacemakers

This award is given annually to honor and recognize a deserving leader from Hawai‘i’s Community. We invite nominations from any persons or organizations. The criteria for nomination and consideration is simple:

The person should be a Hawai‘i resident whose life and work exemplifies a lifelong concern and commitment to the ideals of peace and social justice for all, ideals for which the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. gave his life.

Past Recipients of the Hawai‘i Peacemaker Award

1986    Frank and Peg Eldridge (Crossroads’ Peace Festival)

1988    Valdo and Frances Viglielmo; 
             & Jim Albertini (Lifetime Award)

1989    Sr. Anna McAnany

1990    Kenneth Miyoshi

1991    Na Loio No Na Kanaka

1992    Willis and Barbara Butler

1993    Kaleo Patterson

1994    Laura Crites

1995    Noa Emmett Aluli

1996    Luigi “Gigi” Cocquio and Judy Seladis

1997    Joshua Cooper

1998    LaFrance Kapaka-Arboleda

1999    Nanci Kreidman

2000    Ha‘aheo Guanson

2001    Peter Adler

2002    Robert “Bob” Dye

2003    Fred Dodge

2004    June T. Shimokawa

2005    Charles Pe‘a‘e‘a Makawalu Kekuewa Burrows; 
              & Glenn Paige, Lifetime Peacemaker Award

2006    Judy Austin Rantala

2007    Elizabeth R. Kent

2008    Robert Nakata

2009    Neal MacPherson

2010    Amy Agbayani

2011    Margaret Brown,
            & Robert Baker Aitken  (Lifetime Peacemaker Award)

2012    Nancy Aleck

2013    Kyle Kajihiro

2014    Rev. Samuel Cox